in ,

Wu-Tang Clan’s ‘Wu-Tang Forever’ was the first Hip-Hop album to go No. 1 in the UK


Wu-Tang Clan's summer 1997 sophomore album ‘Wu-Tang Forever' was the first album to go No. 1 in the UK on June 14, 1997. The album was released on June 3rd, 1997 by Loud/RCA Records. Wu-Tang Forever went No. 1 both in the U.S.— 200 chart— and the Official U.K. chart, selling 612,000 units the first week. Wu-Tang Forever was pressed as a double album with 11-tracks on the first disc and 18-tracks on the second disc.

Wu Tang Clan's ‘Wu-Tang Forever' was the first hip hop album to go No. 1 in the UK

Wu Tang Clan's Wu-Tang Forever Disc 1 tracklist

  1. “Wu-Revolution”
  2. “Reunited”
  3. “For Heaven's Sake”
  4. “Cash Still Rules/Scary Hours (Still Don't Nothing Move But the Money)”
  5. “Visionz”
  6. “As High as Wu-Tang Get”
  7. “Severe Punishment”
  8. “Older Gods”
  9. “Maria”
  10. “A Better Tomorrow”
  11. “It's Yourz”

Wu Tang Clan's Wu-Tang Forever Disc 2 tracklist

  1. “Intro”
  2. “Triumph”
  3. “Impossible”
  4. “Little Ghetto Boys”
  5. “Deadly Melody”
  6. “The City”
  7. “The Projects”
  8. “Bells of War”
  9. “The M.G.M.”
  10. “Dog Sh*t”
  11. “Duck Seazon”
  12. “Hellz Wind Staff”
  13. “Heaterz”
  14. Shampoo”
  15. “Second Coming”
  16. “The Closing”
  17. “Sunshower”
  18. “Projects” (International )

Purchase our 100 Hip-Hop Facts (1973-2000) Book

Read: It Costed Wu-Tang Clan $300 to record “Protect Ya Neck”

Read: RZA, GZA, and ODB were in a group called All in Together Now before Wu-Tang Clan

Read: 3 members of the Wu-Tang Clan were cousins

Tupac Me Against The World

2Pac was the first artist to have a No. 1 album while serving a prison sentence with “Me Against the World”

The Sequence - Funk You Up

The Sequence’s “Funk You Up” was the first Hip-Hop single by a female group