Pop Smoke’s Posthumus Album Has Arrived


Shoot for the Stars, Aim for the Moon: Pop Smoke's -of-growth album

With God-given talent, Pop Smoke had the ability to create something special. Before 2018, the Brooklyn native never recorded music. That's a short time span to become a prominent voice for a movement (Brooklyn Drill) and , in general. 

Fatally, we lost Pop Smoke in February, at the young age of 20. His ceiling of potential didn't exist, but he was stopped well short of the possibilities. With songs like “Welcome To The Party” and “Dior,” the energy felt different in the light of his presence. 

Prior to his untimely demise, Pop Smoke worked on his music and acting career. He was a force and nothing was in his way — well — except the law, who prevented the young star from performing at 's inaugural Rolling Loud Festival. 

2020 has been a chaotic year that cannot be defined by the word “chaotic” alone. The loss of Pop Smoke still hits the community and the shift of energy thrives. 

Earlier this week, the album cover for Pop's album was displayed, done by . With much backlash, Steven Victor, Pop's manager, saw to it that another was done. Ryder Ripps, who did the original throne/rose art work, redid the art work, now serving as the offical artwork for the posthumus release.

There was a bit of rift as to how other drill artists (, Sleepy Hallow, , Rah Swish and more) aren't featured on the album. While the album is loaded with features, the drill scene is severely missed on the body of work. However, despite the lack thereof, Pop's growth and range is highlighted all throughout the project. Even with production from go-to producer 808Melo, there's a change in production and delivery.

Shoot for the Stars, Aim at the Moon, is a prime example of this young artist, Pop Smoke, not reaching his full potential. The album executively produced by 50 Cent was a proper send off for the eminent star.

01 Bad Bitch From Tokyo (Intro) (prod. by 808Melo)
02 Aim For the Moon [ft. ] (prod. by 808Melo and WondaGurl)
03 For the Night [ft. Lil Baby & DaBaby] (prod. by CashmoneyAP and Palaze)
04 44 Bulldog (prod. by Mobz and Mora)
05 Gangstas (prod. by Swirv & CashmoneyAP)
06 Yea Yea (prod. by HakzBeats)
07 Creature. [ft. ] (prod. by 808Melo)
08 Snitchin [ft. Quavo & Future] (prod. by Buddah Bless & SethTheChef)
09 Make It Rain. [ft. Rowdy Rebel] (prod. by Yamaica)
10 The Woo. [ft. 50 Cent & ] (prod. by 808Melo)
11 West Coast Shit. [ft. & Quavo] (prod. by DJ Mustard and Bongo)
12 Enjoy Yourself [ft. Karol G] (prod. by Palaze & Luci G)
13 Hotel Lobby (prod. by 808Melo & Jess Jackson)
14 What You Know Bout Love (prod. by Tash)
15 Something Special (prod. by Duro)
16 Diana [ft. King Combs] (prod. by SpunkBigga)
17 Got It on Me (prod. by Young Devante)
18 Tunnel Vision (Outro) (prod. by 808Melo, Nagra & Carson Hackney)
19 Dior (Bonus) (prod. by 808Melo)

Kanye West Releases "Wash Us In The Blood," Featuring Travis Scott

Kanye West Releases “Wash Us In The Blood,” Featuring Travis Scott

Lil Wayne's 'Free Weezy Album' Is Now On All Streaming Platforms

Lil Wayne’s ‘Free Weezy Album’ Is Now On All Streaming Platforms