in ,

MC Hammer’s ‘Please Hammer, Don’t Hurt ‘Em” was the first Hip-Hop album to go Diamond


Please Hammer, Don't Hurt ‘Em (Released February 12, 1990), the third studio album by MC Hammer was the first album to sell 10 million units and go diamond. The album was produced, recorded, and mixed by Felton Pilate and James Earley and released by Capitol Records.

Please Hammer, Don't Hurt ‘Em spent 21 weeks at No. 1 the 200 with the help of its biggest hit “U Can't Touch This” and 28 weeks at No. 1 on the Top /Hip-Hop Albums chart. The album was was certified diamond on April 15, 1991, just 14 months after its release.

Read: Run-DMC's ‘Raising Hell' was the first hip-hop album to go platinum

MC Hammer's 'Please Hammer, Don't Hurt 'Em” (1990) was the first hip-hop album to go diamond.

Please Hammer, Don't Hurt ‘Em tracklist

  1. “Here Comes the Hammer”
  2. “U Can't Touch This”
  3. “Have You Seen Her”
  4. “Yo!! Sweetness”
  5. “Help the Children”
  6. “On Your Face”
  7. “Dancin' Machine”
  8. “Pray”
  9. “Crime Story”
  10. “She's Soft and Wet”
  11. is Black”
  12. “Let's Go Deeper”
  13. “Work This”

As the first hip-hop album to go diamond and selling 14 million units within a year, Please Hammer, Don't Hurt ‘Em‘s massive commercial success helped push and the Hip-Hop genre into a global phenomenon.

Purchase our 100 Hip-Hop Facts (1973-2000) Book

Read: MC Hammer owned a horse named “Dance Floor” that ran in the 1992 Kentucky Derby

The Fearless Four

The Fearless Four were the first rap group to sign with a major label

Scott Storch was a founding member of The Roots

Scott Storch was a founding member of The Roots